logo
    Helping YOU do what YOU want with YOUR data.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Mark Gow  
#1 Posted : Friday, August 16, 2019 6:33:59 PM(UTC)
Mark Gow
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 9
Location: Margaret River

To Whom It May Concern,

We use the access version of ESdat and we are starting to find that we are unable to generate reports with the chemical names across top.  The ESdat error message:

"10460: Too many columns are being exported (max of 255 colums in Excel), try exporting less data or use a different data orientation"

This seems to be happening on all new computers operating Windows 10 enterprise and Office 365 Proplus.  Not sure why but this only became an issue when my computer was replaced, was working fine previously. 

We have tried resolving internally and no one can assist.  So any assistance would be appreciated as it is restricting our ESdat reporting capabilities.

Thanks

 

NickT  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2019 12:07:08 PM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 108

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Hi Mark,

You mention that this seems to be happening on new computers with the updated configuration.  Have you confirmed that you can export using the exact same filter on one of the older computers that doesn't work on a newer one?  This is important to do so we can ensure it's not just a coincidence that it has started happening now.

That being said, the error you've reported suggests that Excel can't handle the volume of data you're trying to export.

Does it still work correctly if you export a smaller volume of data, say just one or two samples?

Thanks,

Nick

Mark Gow  
#3 Posted : Friday, September 20, 2019 3:47:42 PM(UTC)
Mark Gow
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 9
Location: Margaret River

Hi Nick,

We can confirm that it does still work on older computers. Have tried reducing the data set to 1-2 samples and still no luck.

Works fine when you create with chemical names vertically but not the other way.  Any assistance would be appreciated as this is effecting things.

Please email me direct or call to discuss if you have any more queries as we want this resolved ASAP.

Regards  

NickT  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 24, 2019 9:04:09 AM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 108

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Hi Mark,

I would recommend trying these troubleshooting options:

  • If you deselect "Environmental Guidelines" option prior to export (so none are exported), do you get the error?
  • Does using the same computer but logging in as a different user make any difference?
  • Does updating Excel to the latest version make any difference?
  • Does installing all Windows Updates make any difference?
  • Does running a repair or reinstalling Office make any difference?

Thanks,

Nick

Mark Gow  
#5 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2019 12:25:55 PM(UTC)
Mark Gow
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 9
Location: Margaret River

Hi Nick,

Have tried your troubleshooting tips.

1. Same problem occurs when no guidelines are exported.

2. Unfortunately the reporting function no longer works on anyones computer (7 people) as we have all been upgraded to newer computers. So can't login on a new computer.

3. The macro enabled excel spreadsheets are already in teh latest version of excel.

4. Computers are all updated by our IT department regularly.

5. Yes, office has been repaired / reinstalled on two machines and still not working.

Please advise how to rectify as we have now stopped using ESdat.

Regards

NickT  
#6 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2019 11:27:06 AM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 108

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Hi Mark,

What version of Excel are your templates saved as?  Is the extension xls or xlsm?

xlsm is the format that is used with the latest version of Excel, and your ESdat templates should be using this format.

Also, what version of ESdat is installed?

Thanks,

Nick

NickT  
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 02, 2019 9:27:26 AM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 108

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

It would also be worth checking if you get the same issues when using the sample/demo database that comes with ESdat.

Also, can you "dump" tables to Excel using the Excel export on the right toolbar (not the Chem Table export)?

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.