logo
    Helping YOU do what YOU want with YOUR data.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
EmmaDB  
#1 Posted : Friday, May 03, 2013 4:34:18 AM(UTC)
EmmaDB
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 3
Location: Burswood

Hi,

 In our secondary lab data, we've been provided with values for Carbonate as CaC03 which are derived in the same way as Alkalinity (Carbonate as CaCO3) values from our primary lab. When attempting to change the chem name for the secondary lab data to align with the primary lab data naming a window comes up saying

"The changes you requested to the table were not successful because they would create duplicate values in the index"

 Is there another way to output these data under one name?

I have attached a screen capture of this error. I have also tried editing the chemname in both the Chemistry Lookup tab and in the Water Chemistry tab.

 

Thanks! :) 

EmmaDB attached the following image(s):
esdat error.png (208kb) downloaded 7 time(s).

You cannot view/download attachments. Try to login or register.
Warwick Wood  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 07, 2013 1:23:40 AM(UTC)
Warwick Wood
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 373
Man
Location: Byron Bay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Hello Emma,

There is a restriction that only one ChemCode can be used to identify one ChemName.

If two different ChemCodes are in fact the same, then the correct resolution would be to alter the ChemCode in the Chemistry_Results table, so it is the same for both.  We are happy to liase with whichever lab is sending the ChemCode that needs correcting.  The ChemCode with the "Alk" prefix is the preferred one for alkalinity data.

 

Warwick

 

 

T.List  
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 07, 2017 3:44:57 PM(UTC)
T.List
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 3

Hi Warwick, I'm trying to consolidate chem codes, and get the same error ("The changes you requested to the table were not successful because they would create duplicate values in the index") when I try to edit one of the the chem codes in the Chemistry_Results table. Any further hints? Cheers
Warwick Wood  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 13, 2017 8:50:29 PM(UTC)
Warwick Wood
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 373
Man
Location: Byron Bay

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

If you can't ask the lab to reissue with the correct chemcode and you want to change it in the data table then you can either delete the other result that already exists for the ChemCode you are trying to change it to (or maybe that chemcode needs correcting).  Alternatively you can edit the Method Name, as that is part of the Primary Key on the Chemistry Results table.  Typically though if this is occurring it might flag a bit of a deeper investigation into why it is occurring.

Warwick

You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.