logo
    Helping YOU do what YOU want with YOUR data.
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
MRichardson  
#1 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2019 3:23:20 AM(UTC)
MRichardson
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 10

Hello. Can anyone help me with modifiying the QA settings? I would like to create a different UCL and LCL for each LCS compound instead of the same default LCS error % being applied to all LCS compounds. I am using ESdat Version 5.1.16. Thanks in advance

MRichardson  
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2019 3:50:30 AM(UTC)
MRichardson
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 10

Also is there a way to display whether the LCS or MS/MSD % recovery failed high or low?

NickT  
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 29, 2019 7:25:06 AM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 109

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Hi,

With ESdat Desktop, you can manage QA settings with the Chemistry QA Report: http://ESdat.net/ESdatHelp/index.html?labqa.htm

This allows you to use the default QA settings, or specify your own.  To set your own LCL and UCL, navigate to appropriate tab in the dialog (LCS/CRM, Surrogates, Matrix/Trip Spikes), and enter your desired values.

ESdat will now summarise the outliers in the generated Excel report.

I hope this helps,

Nick

MRichardson  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2019 1:13:29 AM(UTC)
MRichardson
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 10

Thanks for the response, Nick. Is the tutorial from an older version of the software? It seems a bit off that the MS/MSD and surrogates have an option for the data to be compared against "..the lab's dynamic where available" but not the LCS. I still haven't found a way to add individual compound ranges for the LCS, but I found a work around by making an environmental standards template to check the LCS against. It's a bit tedious, but it works. Is there any way to highlight and select (x) all of the compunds in the check units macro/button?  Any help would be appreciated.

MRichardson  
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2019 4:59:51 AM(UTC)
MRichardson
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 10

I rescind the last question about the check units macro/button, but I could use some help in figuring out how to incorporate individual LCS compound ranges and the RPD values for LCS/LCSD (and/or MS/MSD) into the QA report. Thanks 

NickT  
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 30, 2019 7:37:55 AM(UTC)
NickT
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Registered, Administrators
Posts: 109

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

Other than the "Acceptable LCS Error %" setting, there is no way to set specific control limits on a per compund basis.  Normally these values would need to be provided from the laboratory rather than entered by users (as that would be cumbersome, as you observe with creating a standard).

One option would be to set the generic “Acceptable LCS Error” to a small value which would export all this data to the QA Report and allow you to view all the results with the dynamic UCL and LCL values per result and use some excel formulas to further refine all compunds if needed.

MRichardson  
#7 Posted : Thursday, October 31, 2019 7:27:57 AM(UTC)
MRichardson
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Registered
Posts: 10

Thanks, NickT. I was able to adopt your advice to change the acceptable LCS error to a low number, and I embedded a pass/fail if statement in the lab comments that shows up with each LCS compound for its specific range. My next missing link is RPD for LCS/LCSD and MS/MSD samples. Why doesn't it show up with the field duplicate assessment in the QA report? It seems as if only sample type Field_D associates itself with a parent sample to be analyzed for RPD? What other sample types can be used for RPD assessment, specifically for LCS/LCSD and MS/MSD? Thanks again!
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.